Get to Know: Rachel Klatt

Image

By Brittany Thompson

Campus Life Editor

 

 As per the mission statement, the Viterbo University community prepares students for faithful service and ethical leadership. Some of the first leaders that incoming students are exposed to are the Resident Assistants (RAs) and Peer Advisors (PAs). 

RAs responsibilities according to the Viterbo Residence Life page include building community, providing personal-growth opportunities and creating fun, social floor activities. PAs are exclusive to Clare Apartments and responsibilities are similar to RAs with less emphasis placed on creating floor activities. 

In an effort to acknowledge the hard work and learn more about these students, this article asks several questions about all things RA and PA related. Rachel Klatt, of Barron, WI is the first to discuss these questions. Klatt is currently PA of Clare Apartments, 4th floor. Previously, she served as RA of Rose Apartments, 4th floor and 2013 Summer RA. 

Q. How well did the move-in process go? 

A. I believe that campus-wide, move-in was a huge success. Everything went so smoothly and there were very little to no glitches within the system. A major part of the move-in success is due to the many volunteers for all of their help, patience, and assistance. Move-in would not have been so successful if not for all of you!

Q. What inspired you to apply for the position of RA? 

A. My RA my freshman year (Kelsey Pruitt) was such a marvelous example and role model of not only an RA but as a student and representative of Viterbo University. I was seeking the opportunity to become an exemplary leader on campus, and becoming a Resident Assistant is the best leadership role I could have ever asked for. I am so very grateful of the opportunities that I have received because of this position, and I am even more delighted to have followed directly in Kelsey’s footsteps.

Q. In what ways have you improved the dorm or apartment experience for the residents? 

A. I make a point every day to practice the Viterbo value of hospitality. I try my hardest to create a welcoming and warm environment for all of the students here on-campus at Viterbo, whether it’s saying hello or developing a social program. 

Q. What it something your residents may not know about you? 

A. My residents most likely do not know that I am a farm girl. I was born and raised on a dairy farm, and it has definitely been the most influential experience in my life that has shaped me into the person that I am today. I received my strong work ethic, patience, and attention to detail from my experience of milking cows to feeding calves to cutting hay and fixing fence. I could not have asked for a better life and experience growing up. 

 
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Lumen and receive notifications of new posts.

