Lumen, thanks for knocking me off my ‘track’

By Missy Katner

Lumen Assistant Editor

What can I say about the last two years with Lumen without sound­ing like a cheeseball? Probably nothing but here goes. I am a clas­sic Benjamin Braddock, hero of “The Graduate.” I knew I would go to col­lege and get a four-year degree, but that’s where my plans ended. You know, other than to live life, dis­cover bigger and better things, yada yada yada.

Where did my plan go awry? I did have one way back as a fresh­man in college. I was on a track. I would study relentlessly, graduate from Viterbo, and go straight into optometry school. It was a pretty solid plan, except for one thing—it was all wrong for me, and I didn’t want to admit it.

One person was able to derail what I thought was a foolproof plan: Sarah Lieser, a one-time Lumen re­porter. In passing, she told me about her experience on the school news­paper and urged me to apply for a job the next year.

Two years later, I have completely rerouted my path toward a career focused on writing, my true passion. So thank you, Lumen, for knocking me off my “track.”

My positive experience can be directly attributed to an excellent staff and editor, especially this year. There was always the joke: “Well who reads it anyway?” The truth is I can’t count how many times I’ve been acknowledged or thanked for our work in Lumen.

Like college in general, an expe­rience on a campus newspaper is what you make it. I will always ap­preciate (and probably miss) being able to write about almost any top­ic I wanted to like protests, world events, movies, and even the myste­rious Marian Courtyard Box.

This is where I get to urge all un­derclassmen with a deep, perhaps forgotten interest in writing to give Lumen a go at least once during col­lege. In a few short years, you could be thanking Lumen for dismantling your career path, too.

I may not have a grand post-grad scheme. I may get an “ooooh” and raised eyebrows after people ask me about my plans in this poor econo­my. But I have something now that I didn’t have when I was coasting on my strict pre-professional route: freedom.

The way I see it, I have a choose-your-own-adventure ahead of me. After graduation, the real world might smack me hard in the face. But for now, I remain optimistic and see endless opportunities.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Lumen and receive notifications of new posts.

