The Reel Deal with Missy & Molly & Janelle ‘The Hunger Games’: Worth the hype?

Missy Katner

Lumen Assistant Editor

&

Molly Grosskreutz

A&E Editor

&

Janelle Mathews

Campus Life Editor

Based on the popular book series by Suzanne Collins, the movie tells the story of Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence), a tribute in the Hunger Games. It is an annual event put on by the oppressive Capitol in which children from 12 districts must fight to the death on live television.

MK: A story of kids killing kids is a tricky plot to translate from page to the screen. Should a movie like this be rated R? That’s my one beef with it. The violence was a major part of the book, but the movie shies away from goriness so as not to exclude the tween audience.

MG: I find myself more enamored by the overall concept of the series more than the actual bloody events, so I guess I wasn’t offended by the lack of violence.

MK: I’ve heard a lot of criticism of Lawrence, but I thought she was a smart choice as Katniss. In the arena, she is quietly expressive, ath­letic, and confident—everything the character was in the book.

MG: After seeing this movie, Jen­nifer Lawrence is my new favorite actress. Her transparent smile, her gnashing her teeth in pain…ev­erything about her feels authentic. Since the “Games,” I have been on a Jennifer Lawrence kick. I want to be her best friend.

MK: For me, Stanley Tucci as Caesar Flickerman, the spokesperson of the Games, steals the show because…he is amazing. It’s worth seeing this movie just for his creepy showman smile.

JM: And to see his bright blue hair!

MG: Before I even saw the cast list, I knew Tucci would be incorporated into this somehow. I expected him to be cast as Cinna, but you’re right, he stuns as Flickerman. The inap­propriate laughter, the big teeth…I keep picturing him during the trib­ute interviews. Which makes me think of the film’s soundtrack. The soundtrack of this film is spot on. I’m so glad they stuck to instrumen­tal pieces with a futuristic edge. The film will remain timeless that way.

MK: I thought director Gary Ross was spot on in his creation of a fu­turistic Big-Brother-is-watching sort of world. He shows what is needed to understand the stark differences between society in the candy-col­ored Capitol and life in the op­pressed districts.

MG: I agree.

MK: Some of the weaker details of the book are cut out. The movie hardly focuses at all on the point­less love triangle between Katniss, Peeta, and Gale.

MG: I appreciate that this movie is very different from “Twilight” in that respect, but I must admit I was a little disappointed how little those relationships were developed.

MK: I thought Katniss and her styl­ist Cinna (Lenny Kravitz) had more chemistry in one scene before the beginning of the Games than fellow tribute Peeta (Josh Hutcherson) and she had in the entire movie.

MG: I’m so glad you brought this up! If I didn’t know better, I would have thought Cinna would lean in and kiss her at any moment. Peeta was disappointing. And so was their one measly kiss.

JM: Agreed! In the scene where Peeta’s very life depends on his ro­mance with Katniss, there did not seem to be any sparks there. Need­less to say, Peeta would not have survived in the movie.

MK: This film is well-done and true to the books. Although I enjoyed it, I found myself wishing that I hadn’t read the book. There are no surpris­es, no real thrills. The movie raises the question: Is there a point of adapting popular books into films?

MG: So often readers protest when their beloved books are reimag­ined. I think the appeal of this film is seeing Collin’s vision realized and maintained.

MK: Thumbs up.

MG: Thumbs up.

JM: Thumbs up.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Lumen and receive notifications of new posts.

