Viterbo student celebrates sixth birthday

By Jordyn McGinnity

Lumen Reporter

Most people have a birthday ev­ery year. Jesse Mossholder, however, an elementary education major from La Crosse, is a leap day baby, who only has an official birthday ev­ery four years. The other years, his birthday is skipped, leaving him the options of celebrating either on Feb. 28 or March 1.

“I celebrated my birthday both days when I was younger,” Moss­holder said. “I milked that as long as I could, until I was seven. After that, my parents didn’t give me a full birthday.” He did add that on leap years, when it was his actual birth­day, “I got everything I wanted.”

Mossholder has never met an­other leap day baby, and he uses his somewhat rare birthdate, as only one in 1,461 people are leap day ba­bies according to leapyearday.com, as an interesting fact about himself.

“It’s a good icebreaker,” Moss­holder said. “That’s my interesting fact when I meet people.”

Feb. 29 will be Mossholder’s sixth official birthday, and he said it “makes February interesting every four years.”

In his interview with Lumen, Mossholder said, “This is the first year that I actually thought about the fact that this is only my sixth birthday. It is the second one that I’ve had since I’ve been an adult, and as my next one won’t be until I’m 28, that will be a long time.”

For his sixth birthday, Mossholder doesn’t have any big plans. “I play intramurals that night, so my friends and I will celebrate after that.”

This will also be one of the few years that Facebook will notify peo­ple that it is his birthday, alerting his friends to the fact. On non-leap years, there is no notification from Facebook.

“I’m disappointed that Facebook doesn’t tell people my birthday ev­ery year,” Mossholder said. “Birth­days are supposed to be a special day for everyone, but I only get one every four years.”

“Usually no one knows,” Moss­holder said. “My birthday just gets passed by.”

He did share the fact that as a leap day baby, one thing he won’t get is a golden birthday, where he gets to celebrate officially turning 29.

“I would have to be 116 years old to have my golden birthday,” Moss­holder said. “Even if I did make it, what would I do? By that time I won’t even know what a birthday is. I would be happy if I don’t make it to that age.”

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Lumen and receive notifications of new posts.

