Reflections on Houston’s death

Molly Grosskreutz

A&E Editor

Princess Diana’s car crashed when many students were less than 10 years old, yet we remember her death vividly. In more recent years, Heath Ledger, Michael Jackson, Anna Nicole Smith, and Amy Wine­house died, and the world cried out in despair.

Just last week, we learned that pop powerhouse Whitney Houston was found unresponsive in a Bev­erly Hills bathtub. My mom called me into our living room to announce the news, as if she were the one en­trusted with telling Whitney’s clos­est loved ones. As Houston’s visage lit up the television screen, my mom and I shared a moment of exaspera­tion and deep sadness.

But why was I sad? I had never met the woman, after all. Nor had I met any of the countless others for whom I have grieved throughout the years. Then it struck me: I’ve been conditioned to care.

I am by no means trying to dis­count the profound influence Hous­ton had on the world—she was an extraordinary talent and life-force. But I can’t help but think of the millions of others who die each day, whose funeral services are not broadcast on national television.

As the primary actors in our own life productions, we all have people we actually know whose loss would be devastating. I invite you all to consider who those people are, and to remind them in 3-D space that you love them.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Lumen and receive notifications of new posts.

