Senior profile: Kayla Prond

By Jessica Schurmann

A&E Editor

 

Major: BFA in Studio Art

Emphasis: Painting

Hometown: Byron, Minn.

 

Q: Tell me about your journey as an artist. Were there any big struggles?

A: My journey was pretty simple. I picked my painting emphasis right away and there weren’t really any struggles. The only one I had was trying to figure out how my art can progress to the next level.

 

Q: Why did you choose the Viterbo art program?

A: I chose the art program at Viterbo because I liked the smaller niversity feel. I received the one-on-one attention that helped me grow as an artist.

 

Q: You just had your senior art show this fall. What all went into the planning of the show?

A: Quite a bit. We spent a lot of hours setting up in the gallery. I also had quite a bit of framing to do over the summer. I think the opening turned out great…more people showed up than I was expecting.

 

Q: Any advice for future fine arts graduates at Viterbo?

A: Don’t be afraid to apply for the fine arts program. Also, do not be afraid to take risks with your artwork.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Follow Lumen and receive notifications of new posts.

